Search
Close this search box.

Russian "operative art" unveiled

Lundis de l’IHEDN : « L’art opératif » russe dévoilé

Benoist Bihan and Jean Lopez presented their book "Conduire la guerre: entretiens sur l'art opératif" at the IHEDN strategic debates. They shed light on the origins of the art of warfare, its applications in historical conflicts and its relevance today, with the return of high-intensity warfare.

Economic defence: a new approach to dealing with new threats

LUNDIS IHEDN - Défense économique

A sector that is highly connected to the rest of the world, fragmented into numerous players and likely to have an impact on the entire population, a country's economy is both a target and a weapon of strategic confrontation. Focus on France's defence and security doctrine for this "sinews of war".

Strategic stocks: mobilise or immobilise?

The war in Ukraine has accelerated the debate on Europe's dependence on resources - particularly energy - and raw materials. Russian gas, Chinese batteries, Taiwanese semi-conductors... How can we guarantee the security of our supply chains in the event of a crisis? One of the solutions that has come back into fashion concerns strategic stocks, i.e. the organisation, management and replenishment of certain resources deemed essential either for the population or for industries. This note puts the issue of stockpiling into perspective, highlights the relevance of certain models, and raises the question of the resilience of our countries and of France.

Ludovic Schultz: "The agreement reached at the United Nations on 4 March is doubly historic.

After 15 years of discussions and negotiations, the Member States of the United Nations have agreed on an International Treaty for the Protection of the High Seas. Ludovic Schultz, an auditor at the IHEDN and recently appointed Director of the Écrins National Park, was involved in drafting the treaty for many years, first as deputy director at the Ministry for Ecological Transition and then as adviser to the Secretary General for the Sea. He sheds some light on this historic agreement.

GBR Ortemann: "I never wanted to be dictated to.

Men are no more predisposed than women to take an interest in defence and national security issues. To mark International Women's Day on 8 March, Brigadier General Anne-Cécile Ortemann answered our questions.

Climate change: how the armed forces are adapting

IHEDN - Changement climatique - comment les armées s’adaptent

Natural disasters and the depletion of resources not only have an ecological impact: they also increase the threat to global security, prompting the defence sector to undergo a lasting structural transformation.

« L’art opératif » russe dévoilé

Lundis de l’IHEDN : « L’art opératif » russe dévoilé

Benoist Bihan et Jean Lopez ont présenté, dans le cadre des débats stratégiques de l’IHEDN, leur ouvrage “Conduire la guerre : entretiens sur l’art opératif”. Ils éclairent sa genèse, ses applications dans des conflits historiques, mais aussi son actualité, à l’heure du retour de la haute intensité.

Défense économique : une approche nouvelle pour traiter de nouvelles menaces

LUNDIS IHEDN - Défense économique

Secteur très connecté au reste du monde, éclaté en de nombreux acteurs et susceptible d’impacter l’ensemble de la population, l’économie d’un pays est à la fois une cible et une arme d’affrontements stratégiques. Focus sur la doctrine française de défense et de sécurité de ce “nerf de la guerre”.

Stocks stratégiques : mobiliser et immobiliser ?

La guerre d’Ukraine a accéléré les débats sur les dépendances des Européens vis-à-vis de ressources – notamment énergétiques – et de matières premières. Gaz russe, batteries électriques chinoises, semi-conducteurs taïwanais… Comment garantir la sûreté de nos chaînes d’approvisionnement en cas de crise ? L’une des solutions remises au goût du jour concerne les stocks stratégiques, c’est-à-dire l’organisation, la gestion, et la reconstitution de certaines ressources jugées essentielles soit pour la population, soit pour des industries. Cette note met en perspective la problématique du stockage, souligne la pertinence de certains modèles, et pose en filigrane la problématique de la résilience de nos pays et de la France.

Ludovic Schultz : « L’accord conclu aux Nations Unies le 4 mars dernier est doublement historique. »

Après 15 ans de discussions et négociations, les États membres de l’ONU se sont accordés sur un Traité international de protection de la haute mer. Ludovic Schultz, auditeur de l’IHEDN, récemment nommé directeur du parc national des Écrins, a contribué à son élaboration pendant de longues années, comme sous-directeur au ministère de la transition écologique puis comme conseiller du secrétaire général de la mer. Il nous éclaire sur cet accord historique.

Changement climatique : comment les armées s’adaptent

IHEDN - Changement climatique - comment les armées s’adaptent

Catastrophes naturelles et épuisement des ressources n’ont pas seulement un impact écologique : ces phénomènes augmentent aussi les menaces sur la sécurité globale, ce qui pousse le secteur de la défense à une transformation structurelle durable.