Our governance


Director: Lieutenant General Benoît DURIEUX

General Benoît Durieux was admitted to the Saint-Cyr military academy in 1985, as a member of the "Cadets of Free France" class. Initially assigned to the 1er Régiment de Chasseurs Parachutistes as a section leader, he then had several postings within the Foreign Legion, at the 13e DBLE from 1991 to 1993 as head of the sniper section, then at the 2e REI of which he commanded the 3e company from 1994 to 1996. With these units, he took part in operations in Djibouti in 1992-1993, Somalia in 1993, and Bosnia in 1995 and 1996. He was then head of the Operations and Training office of the 13e DBLE in Djibouti from 2002 to 2004.

He served as speechwriter to the Chief of Defence Staff, General Thorette, from 2005 to 2006, and then to the Chief of Defence Staff, General Georgelin, from 2006 to 2008. At the same time, he pursued a career in strategic thinking. A graduate of the Institut d'Études Politiques de Paris and Georgetown University in the United States, with a doctorate in history, he has published numerous books and articles on these subjects, on which he taught at the Institut d'Études Politiques de Paris.

His operational career continued as commander of 2e Régiment Étranger d'Infanterie in Nîmes from 2008 to 2010. It was with this unit that he was deployed between June 2009 and January 2010 in Afghanistan, in the Surobi sector to the east of Kabul.

After a year with the 60e session of the CHEM and the 63rd session of the IHEDN, he was deputy head of the defence minister's military cabinet between 2011 and 2014. From 2014 to 2016, he was Director of the Centre des Hautes Études Militaires, which prepares the future top leaders of the armed forces for their responsibilities. It was in this capacity that he was promoted to brigadier general on 1 January 2016.er January 2015. The 1er August 2016, he took command of the 6e On 22 July 2017, he became head of the Prime Minister's military cabinet. He was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant General on 1 July 2017.er January 2019.

Married with five children, General Benoit Durieux is an Officer of the Legion of Honour, Commander of the National Order of Merit and holder of the Military Valour Cross with two commendations.

Deputy Director: Prefect Denis CONUS

By decree of 27 January 2020 of the President of the Republic, Denis Conus, Préfet, has been appointed Deputy Director of the Institut des hautes études de défense nationale (IHEDN). He was previously Prefect of the Marne.

Born in Lons le Saulnier (Jura), Denis Conus studied at secondary school in Dole (Jura) and went on to higher education in Lyon and Paris. He holds a degree from the Institut d'études politiques de Lyon and a master's degree in public law.

The IHEDN is his 17th posting in a career marked by both geographical mobility and the diversity of responsibilities exercised in the service of the State and local authorities.

After joining the Paris civil service, where he was Deputy General Secretary and then General Secretary of a district town hall, and a posting to the Paris Council, Denis Conus was seconded to the Corrèze Departmental Council as Chief of Staff to the Chairman of the Departmental Council.

On his return to Paris, he was a project manager in the office of the Mayor of Paris (Jacques Chirac) before being appointed head of the office of the Secretary of State for Rural Development and then technical adviser in the office of the Minister for Infrastructure, Housing, Transport and Tourism.

In 1996, he became head of the Prefect's private office, Secretary General of the Paris Prefecture and then sub-prefect of Ussel (Corrèze).

From June 1999 to August 2007, he was seconded to the Presidency of the Republic as head of the administration and conservation department of the Élysée Palace and the presidential residences.

From August 2007 to January 2019, he served successively as Prefect of Gers, Haute-Loire, Lot et Garonne and Marne.

He is married with three children.


Board of Directors

Members of the IHEDN Board of Directors

Decree of 24 January 2020 appointing the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Institut des hautes études de la défense nationale.

Sylvie BERMANNAmbassador of France, Chairman of the IHEDN Board of Directors

Stéphane BOUILLONGeneral Secretary for Defence and National Security (SGDSN), or his representative

Thierry BURKHARDGeneral, Chief of the Defence Staff, or his representative

Alice RUFODirector General of International Relations and Strategy (DGRIS), or her representative

Anne-Marie DESCÔTESFrench Ambassador, Secretary General of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, or her representative

Claire GIRYDirector General of Research and Innovation, or her representative

Didier MARTINSecretary General of the Ministry of the Interior and Overseas Territories, or his representative

Thomas COURBEIngénieur général de l'armement, Directeur général des entreprises, or his representative

Nathalie COLIN, Director General of Administration and the Civil Service or its representative

Mounir BELHAMITI, Member for Loire-Atlantique


Bruno PACCAGNINIGeneral (2S), qualified in the fields of national security, defence, foreign policy, economics or research

Yves BOYERA person qualified in the fields of national security, defence, foreign policy, economics or research.

Dominique LAMOUREUXA person qualified in the fields of national security, defence, foreign policy, economics or research.

Valérie DEROUETCivilian auditor who has met the requirements of the sessions, EDF Director, on the recommendation of the SGDSN

Alexandra HERMANCivilian auditor who has fulfilled the obligations of the sessions, public sector consultant, on the proposal of the SGDSN

Aline SCOUARNECCivilian auditor who has met the requirements for the sessions, nominated by the SGDSN

Scientific Advisory Board

Members of the IHEDN Scientific Council

Order of 25 September 2020 appointing members to the Scientific Council of the Institut des hautes études de la défense nationale.

Following the publication of the Prime Minister's decree of 25 September 2020, the IHEDN is pleased to welcome its new Scientific Council, headed by its Chairman, Jean-Marie GUÉHENNO.

By order of the Prime Minister dated 25 September 2020, the following are appointed members of the Scientific Council of the Institut des hautes études de la défense nationale:
Mr Jean-Marie GUÉHENNO, Chairman ;
Air Force General (cr) Stéphane ABRIAL ;
Mrs Stéphanie BALME ;
Mr Stéphane BOUJNAH ;
Ms Fabienne BUCCIO;
Ms Bénédicte CHÉRON ;
Ms Nathalie DELAPALME ;
Mr Thomas GOMART ;
Mr Hervé GUILLOU ;
Mr Philippe HAYEZ ;
Mr Jean-Vincent HOLEINDRE ;
Mr Philippe MARTIN ;
Ms Christine OCKRENT ;
Mr Guillaume POUPARD.